Me Made May – First Week Round Up

It’s been just over a week since the start of my Me Made May challenge to wear an item of clothing I have made myself everyday for the whole of May. So far I have been really enjoying wearing clothes I have made myself, although I haven’t had to change my normal outfits too much.

I’ve read a few blog posts from people taking part in the challenge and many people seem to have “learnt lessons” or gained insights from the process. I have to say that I haven’t learnt much about myself or my wardrobe from taking part but I have learnt a little more about social media. Here are some of my insights!

A Colourful Dress in a Sunny Location is Way more Likeable than Staple Items

The most liked outfits so far were taken when I was on holiday in the South of France. For example my own version of the Lisette Passport Dress photographed while on holiday in the picturesque town of Roussillon

Lisette Passport dress in reclaimed batik fabric #mmmay15 #ochre #roussillon

A post shared by Kristina Seznec (@kristinajseznec) on

Compare this to the number of likes my self-drafted white t-shirt attracted, there is no contest. White t-shirts are officially boring.

Self drafted white t-shirt for Saturday shopping #mmmay15

A post shared by Kristina Seznec (@kristinajseznec) on

Nobody Likes Rain 

My least liked picture so far has been this one of me wearing my waterproof pants. They may have been an intriguing and challenging sew but they do not make compelling instagram eye candy.

First day back from holiday and wearing homemade waterproof cycling trousers for #mmmay15

A post shared by Kristina Seznec (@kristinajseznec) on

An Arty Shot Will Always Get Likes on IG

My most liked picture so far has been this one. Is it the liberty print fabric, is it the moody lighting, or the fact I am not smiling at the camera? I think this shot is more “classic” instagram than some of the others I have taken which may have helped.

My first Liberty Fabric dress taken out of retirement for #mmmay15. Pattern by Burda.

A post shared by Kristina Seznec (@kristinajseznec) on

Hashtags, Hashtags, Hashtags

I began by just using the official hashtag, #mmmay15, but in the last couple of days I have noticed a lot of people using #memademay15. I’ve started using both although the purist in me wants to stick only to the official one.

Follow me on instagram or check out the hashtag to see all the outfits for the rest of the month. I can promise you that I will be wearing some of the more unusual items I have made in the next few weeks, it’s not just going to be 19 days of office appropriate attire.

One comment

Leave a Reply

