2014: Year of Knits

I think its legitimate to say that in 2014 the indie sewing scene discovered knits, or at least the online sewing community discovered knit fabric. Always one to jump on a bandwagon I wasn’t alone in this and although in 2014 I blogged very little I actually made quite a lot. Here is a mini round up.

I had never sewn with knits before and to be honest felt very intimidated. So before I started I read the e-book version of Colette’s Guide to Sewing Knits. It’s a great way to get into knits and answers every question you might have on fabric, equipment, techniques etc. Looking back I think it may have actually been a little too detailed for my needs but it gave me the reassurance and a good place to start. I read this as an e-book and one thing I would say is that the file is a PDF formatted at a square size with small text which makes it slightly awkward to read on a tablet and not at all suitable for a kindle. With hindsight I wish I had bought the printed edition.

jersey dress-1

The first pattern I attempted was the Nettie Dress by Closet Case Files. I’ve been a fan of Heather’s blog for a while but this was the first pattern I had tried. The dress is easy to make, stylish and endlessly adaptable. In the end I made two out of a Liberty print jersey and I am considering making one more. It has a really detailed sewalong blog to accompany it and great detailed notes in the instructions. You can also change the pattern to make a simple top or skirt, as well as a bodysuit so its good value.
Here’s a picture of me at my cousin’s hen modelling my first attempt at the Nettie dress. Not a great photo, but a fun one! (I’m in the middle if you can’t spot me!)

Start of the day at Ascot

A post shared by Kristina Seznec (@kristinajseznec) on

I followed this with the Myrtle dress by Collette patterns. It is fantastically easy and fun to wear. I would highly recommend it as a first pattern to try with stretch. I made it in an afternoon!

Myrtle dress

I also made the Collette Mabel skirt which is very simple but I don’t recommend it as highly. I think that if you don’t have an overlocker (which I don’t) the weight of fabric you need to make it look good isn’t really suited to sewing on a machine and getting a fabulous finish. But it is very very simple and would suit anyone looking to try working with a knit fabric for the first time.

First outing for my latest holiday sewing project #mabel #colettepatterns

A post shared by Kristina Seznec (@kristinajseznec) on

Since sewing these three patterns in the summer I have felt very confident and have been able to draft my own patterns and make extensive alterations for knit/stretch fabric. I’ve made my own t-shirts, and faux leather leggings and a skirts. I haven’t managed to take pictures of the leggings and skirt yet, but here are the t-shirts.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

