The In Crowd

It’s been a while since I have posted because of an unfortunate computer malfunction but hopefully I should be back on track soon.

In the meantime I have been doing a bit of a survey of official art institution blogs for a project I am working on (more on that later) and I read something on the Indianapolis Museum of Art Blog (creators of the intriguing artbabble.org ) which made me think.  In a post written by Ellen Carrlee entitled Elitism, AIC, and Blogs: Where is the Love?   about the state of the conservation profession in the US she says:

Conservation students are not taught much about the museum profession.  Often, the conservator on staff is seen as the obstructionist. The one who says “no.”  The one who goes by the book and makes everything difficult.  The one who does not get invited to the table.

It struck me that having worked in lots of different museum and gallery departments in several organisations that pretty much everyone at some point complains that they are “not invited to the table”.  It makes me wonder who’s actually eating dinner?

Leave a Reply

