The Art of YouTube

It’s been a while since I last blogged but I thought I would start by going back to something I have touched on before: art and YouTube videos. In my last post I mentioned finding performance pieces on YouTube which we were not allowed to watch in full at an acedemic conference. I assumed that this meant that the video was illegal, but apparently this is not so. Lynn kindly pointed out to me that this was an officially sanctioned release, which is fantastic!

There is so much added value when a gallery visitor is able to see examples of work online. It allows them to find out more about something, and I think it acts as an active encouragement for people to get out and visit galleries.

With that in mind, I wanted to highlight the Warhol Museum’s newsletter which always has little easter eggs like youtube videos or mobile phone ring tones to give away to its readers. It’s fantastic – and if you’re sitting on a lot of content why not!

What I really want to know is if they posted this on YouTube themselves, or if they just found this by googling…

One comment

  1. arttart

    I just checked it looks like this is a fan video and not one which has been officially released… which is even more interesting when you think about it!

Leave a Reply

